Plowing Together: Finding Ideas After You’ve Taken a Break from Writing – Please Comment

I took a break for a couple months because life got a little crazy. Sometimes when you take a break like that, you come back to a dry field. No ideas come to mind. How do you jumpstart your writing again? Where do you find ideas?

Please share your comments. You might inspire someone else.

Posted on March 24, 2015, in fiction, inspiration, nonfiction, poetry, writer's life, writing, writing ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have taken a break from writing myself. I also love to scrapbook, and have projects that I had fallen behind in while I was attempting writing. My brain doesn’t function too well after 12 hour shifts, and just coming up with scrapbook page ideas Without being repetitive in my style is a challenge most days. Have a new tool that is helping with that, but it also required a huge learning curve and adapting to digitally creating layouts/embellishments for the stories I am telling on my pages. So it’s still writing, but not in a sustained lengthy way.

  2. These are great insights, Debra. Thanks for sharing them.

  3. Hi! This is exactly what I am doing for my blog right now. I am discovering a few things. As I pray and worship, Holy Spirit breathes new life through creative ideas. That is always wonderful. Sometimes I think that I have to seclude myself and be quiet to find new ideas which is often true. But, in my case, the opposite has also happened this week. There were moments where I got out and lived – new movies, new blogs, new shows on TV all of which inspired me without me looking to be inspired. I was just living and taking notes and new ideas burst forth when I wasn’t looking for them.

Leave a Reply

