Reflections on 2014

happy_new_year_2015_balloons_clip_artI’ve put this blog on hold this year because it’s been a tough one for me. In March, I lost my beloved kitty, Bailey, who was with me for almost 15 years. His “sister” still roams the house howling and looking for him. I know how she feels. I still miss him.

Then, I went through some health and financial issues that got me discouraged. I’m still facing them but I’m trying to overcome them.

I haven’t followed my own advice. I haven’t used these experiences to inspire writing ideas. And, I haven’t brought them to the foot of the cross as often as I should have. That’s my mistake.

I lost perspective. But, I hope to regain it in 2015.

I don’t intend to create a long list of resolutions – just one – to spend more time with God and let Him work through me to create writing ideas. After all, He’s the author and perfecter of our faith, and He knows how to use our writing gifts for His glory.

What are your reflections on 2014 and how can you use your insights in your writing? Please leave a comment.

© Deborah Christensen

Posted on December 31, 2014, in emotional health, fiction, grief, health, illness, inspiration, New Year, nonfiction, poetry, writer's life, writing, writing ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good to hear from you. I posted a comment on the blog.

    Shauna

    >

  2. Working from my new iPad. My apologies for the editing errors!

  3. Oh Debbie. I am So sorry for your struggles! I have been praying for you because your absence on the blog spoke volumes to me, even though I did not know the particulars. Loss of our fur babies is so hard. Then add physical and financial troubles to that, and you have had quite a year. Don’t be too hard on yourself. We all struggle to find inspiration and put
    words on the screen or on paper. You have gently made suggestions as my mentor through the years. I don’t have any better words for you than what you have stated above-take your troubles to the foot of the cross. Who else better understands our grief more than Jesus!

    I have been overwhelmed in my day job to the point that I just don’t have any brain cells left when I home! Add to that the depression and struggles our oldest daughter has had for the past year, and I have lots of fodder for ideas, if I would just take the time to write it down.

    My prayer is that your 2015 is filled with improved health and a smoother path. One of my favorite verses is Proverbs 3:5-6, which ironically made #1 on Liz Curtis Higgs’s blog, “Your 50 Favorite Proverbs.” “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your path.” (Some versions say “make your path straight”, but I learned it in King James and it makes more sense to me. Our path in life is not necessarily always “straight”, as this past year has shown to both of us. But He definitely gives us direction! The question is, do we listen?

    Thankful that I saw this post. Blessings to you Debbie!

Leave a Reply

