Friday Fun: Jules Verne’s Birthday

Today is Jules Verne’s birthday. He was born in 1828. His works include “A Journey to the Center of the Earth,” “Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea” and “Around the World in Eighty Days.” His science fiction writing foreshadowed such advances as the submarine, the aqualung, TV and space travel.

COMMENT BELOW: Do you like science fiction? What kind of science fiction do you read? What kind do you write? What’s your favorite Jules Verne story?

Posted on February 8, 2013, in Fun Facts, inspiration, writer's life, writing, writing ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Shauna, I was so amazed to discover how insightful he was. I loved the movies they made of his books (not the new ones but the old ones from the 40s and the 50s). And, I, too, got into science fiction more as I got older – Star Trek, etc.

  2. When I was younger, I didn’t really get into science fiction at all. My mother always said “that is such NONSENSE!” if I would talk about sci-fi. (Secretly I would watch The Twilight Zone when I was older!) When my husband and I got married, I learned to enjoy Star Trek more. It is amazing to me, though, that Jules Verne had such an intrepid imagination! I did enjoy “Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea” as an adult.

  1. Pingback: Jules Verne – Reader Submission | Dog-eared Kindle

Leave a Reply

