Gardening Tools – DocsToGo

For years, I kept my life on a Palm Pilot. One of the programs that I downloaded was DocsToGo. I used it to write devotionals, articles and copy for my full-time job. I knew all the shortcuts with the stylus. It allowed me to write anywhere without carrying a heavy laptop. So when my Palm Pilot died and I couldn’t replace it because they didn’t make it anymore, I lost something valuable.

A couple of years ago, I discovered that I can use the iPod Touch just like my Palm Pilot. I also discovered that DocsToGo now makes an app for the iPod Touch, iPhone and iPad, and for many other systems, including Blackberry and Android. This time, you don’t need a stylus, just use the keypad on whatever you use.

What is DocsToGo? The app I use offers Microsoft Word and Excel. You can also get PowerPoint and pdfs. I can set fonts, point sizes and indents. I then sync it with my desktop and get the full file.

I’ve used it while I’m waiting in a doctor’s office or car service center. If I need to write, I can keep my iPod Touch in my purse and write wherever I am.

It’s a great tool for writers who travel or who get inspired even when they’re away from their computer.

You can find more information at their website: DocsToGo.

© Deborah Christensen

Posted on March 7, 2012, in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

