Our Furry Friends

Pets have shared my life for as long as I can remember. They gave, and continue to give, joy and unconditional love.

We can glean writing ideas from our pets, from their care to the lessons we learn about ourselves.

Spiritual Lessons

What have you learned about unconditional love from your pets? About total dependence on God? About joy? What other spiritual/character lessons have you learned? Share these stories and the lessons you learned in inspirational or personal experience pieces.

How-To Pieces

When I adopted my own pets, I had so many questions. I relied on the advice of others to help me maneuver through this new adventure.

How did you choose your pet? How did you choose your vet? What did you learn about various health issues? How do you recognize a health issue? How do you avoid preventable health issues? What did you discover about the proper diet for your pet? What did you learn about grooming? How did you introduce a new pet to other pets in the house? How do you travel with your pet? How do you take care of a pet when you’re away?

You learned these things and you can share this information with new pet owners.

Parenting Pieces

Many parents don’t know how to involve their children in the care of a pet. You can help them navigate this area of parenting by offering helpful guidance.

How did you involve your children in the care of the pet? How did you handle a pet pregnancy with your children? How did you guide your children through the loss of a pet?

Fiction

Many children’s publications and books feature stories with and about pets. Use your experiences as a starting point for fun and endearing stories.

The next time your dog takes you for a walk or a purring alarm clock wakes you up, tuck the memory away in your idea file. Your furry friends can give you dozens of writing ideas.

Posted on July 18, 2011, in writing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great article! I can definitely see how my pets can help to inspire me to write stories and and even books in any of the categories you mentioned. But I’ve found that our dogs inspired me in another direction – non-fictional humor! Hardly a day goes by were one of our little Yorkies hasn’t done or was involved in something that could only be viewed as comical! It is either truly funny, or I”m simply using it as an excuse to maintain my sanity!

    It is true that our pets are part of our family, and enjoying the lighter side of life with them is something I wouldn’t want to be without,

Leave a Reply

